Guatemalan Vegan Tamales?

Rudy Giron: Antigua Guatemala &emdash; Guatemalan Vegan Tamales

What is the world is coming to? What is this vegan tamales thing? Oh come on, if you take the meat and all the things that make tamales so flavourful, you end up with vegan tamales. To each its own. Now, I believe typical ordinary tamales are already lactose free and gluten free, since there is no milk or wheat flour in the recipe, as far as I know.

Of course, healthier Guatemalan tamales had always existed. Some people cook them with olive oil and with healthier meats or sans meat altogether. Well, Guatemalan tamales had very little meat as it is, less than one once of meat in most cases.

Nevertheless, I am glad to see the vegan tamales for those who do not eat any animal products because now everyone can enjoy the flavourful Guatemalan tamales. No excuses.

© 2015, Rudy Giron. All rights reserved.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
  • Mercutio57

    Yes, they have always been gluten free, gracias a Dios. I’ve been on a GF diet for over 25 years (by medical necessity, long before the current fad), and am very grateful that Central American cuisine is so corn-based.

    La primera vez que vine a Guate despues de que habia explicado el problema a mis anfitriones me apodoran “el hombre de maiz.” Tomando en cuenta la importancia del maiz en la cultura tradicional pues ese apodo fue un gran honor para mi!

    • Hombre de maíz, what a great nickname for all those GL men living or visiting Guatemala.