Colonial Baroque Coat of Arms of the Catholic Kings of Spain


Believe it or not, there dozen, perhaps hundreds of coat of arms of the Spanish Catholic Kings all over Antigua Guatemala; formerly known as Santiago de Los Caballeros de Guatemala.

For those who don’t know, Antigua Guatemala was the capital for the Capitanía General de Guatemala [The Captaincy General of Guatemala], also known as the Kingdom of Guatemala (Spanish: Reino de Guatemala), which was an administrative division of the Spanish Empire, including the present-day nations of Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Honduras, El Salvador, and Guatemala, and the Mexican state of Chiapas.

© 2020, Rudy Giron. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *